A smile to be proud of!

The smile I now have is a real smile and the person behind it no longer has anything to hide. Ulcerative Colitis is the hidden disease that changed my life for the better, made me the person I am today, but took me through struggles that I never thought would end.

I was rushed into hospital in 2011 at 19 years old after fainting due to blood loss….I had no idea what was happening to me.

I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis a few days after being in hospital and looked set to face a life with this disease.

I want to share my story to show that there is hope for those who have UC. There can be light at the end of the tunnel…..you do not have to suffer in silence or hide behind a forced smile forever.

UC has played a huge part in making me the person I am, it has taught me a huge amount about myself but it no longer rules my life.

Leave a comment